Disable MBean Warnings in Oracle ORDS

Disable MBean Warnings in Oracle ORDS

I've been working with my Oracle 23c Free Docker, APEX & ORDS all-in-one container for some time. However, I've been encountering an MBean Warning in the ORDS log.

It looks like this.

2023-12-18T14:22:26.603Z WARNING Error while registering Oracle JDBC AC statistics MBean. java.lang.NullPointerException at java.base/java.util.Objects.requireNonNull(Objects.java:209) at java.base/sun.nio.fs.UnixFileSystem.getPath(UnixFileSystem.java:263) at java.base/java.nio.file.Path.of(Path.java:147)

Everything was working fine, it wasn't bothering me... then it started to bother me... and therefore, with a bit of Googling, I fixed it.

According to this post, we can just disable the warning.

The steps I took were:

  1. Log in to UNIX

      docker exec -it 23cfree /bin/bash
    
  2. Drop into super user (because we are going to stop/start ords as su)

     su
    
  3. Stop ORDS (I'm using the script built from the first hyperlink)

     sh /home/oracle/scripts/stop_ords.sh
    
  4. Find the logging.properties file

      find / -name "logging.properties" 2>/dev/null
    

    This returned me to 3 folders

     bash-4.4$  find / -name "logging.properties" 2>/dev/null
     /etc/java/java-17-openjdk/java-17-openjdk-17.0.7.0.7-3.0.1.el8.x86_64/conf/logging.properties
     /opt/oracle/product/23c/dbhomeFree/javavm/lib/logging.properties
     /opt/oracle/product/23c/dbhomeFree/jdk/jre/lib/logging.properties
    

    I took the first one, the java-17-openjdk one. I ignored the 23c ones

  5. Then I edited this file (your version may be different)

      nano /etc/java/java-17-openjdk/java-17-openjdk-17.0.7.0.7-3.0.1.el8.x86_64/conf/logging.properties
    
  6. Add this line to the very end of the file

     oracle.jdbc.level=OFF
    
  7. Save it with ctrl+x

  8. Start ORDS

     sh /home/oracle/scripts/start_ords.sh
    
  9. exit Superuser

     exit
    
  10. Bingo! no more MBean nonsense.

Enjoy

What's the picture? It's Crimple Valley Viaduct, mid-afternoon, mid-December 2023. Visit Yorkshire!