Low-Code Challenge: Build a World Cup APEX Application in less than 30  Minutes

Low-Code Challenge: Build a World Cup APEX Application in less than 30 Minutes

Low-Code Face Off

The Background

I recently added a low-code conference in November 2022 in London.

One of the highlights of the show was a Code-Challenge, it was fantastically well organised. There were 4 contestants all ready and up for the challenge. They were all experts in their field and it was hosted by a couple of coding-stars too.

The brief was to use the World Cup 22 data provided to create a visual of the matches, some addtional data visualisations of the groups or stadiums plus an element where the user had to predict the overall winner.

My attempt

I decided to have a go in Oracle APEX.

As you can see from the above video, whilst my timer was running, I took some time to introduce the challenge and then completed it with some minutes to spare.

Whilst building, I was commentating on my build order, the decisions I was making and adding some tips and tricks in there. I had very little preperation and the application came together within time. I did encounter a few bugs that I had made - but hey this is normal, this is live-coding and this is what happens every day at work.

I challenge you

I challenge other low-code frameworks to the same coding-challenge. Show us what your framework can do, educate us and pass the challenge on.